History of the SJVPA

SJVPA was officially formed in 1977 by a group of young, energetic psychologists – including Errol Leifer, Ph.D., ABPP, Ron Teague, Ph.D., ABPP, Doug Waugh, Ph.D., Allen Hedberg, Ph.D., a now Past President of CPA, and Ron Gandolfo, Ph.D., ABPP – who wanted a professional organization – a chapter of CPA to represent the interests of psychologists in the Central Valley.  It was named the San Joaquin Psychological Association and Dr. Errol Leifer was named as the first president.  It was in 2001 that the name was changed to the Fresno Area Psychological Association due to confusion with San Joaquin county’s jurisdiction.  In 2009, the name was changed to the San Joaquin Valley Psychological Association to better reflect the organization’s roots and embrace the full domain of the San Joaquin Valley.  Since its beginning, 30 local psychologists have served as presidents of SJVPA and numerous individuals have volunteered significant amounts of time and effort to serve on its Board of Directors and Committees.  The organization continues to contribute in numerous and significant ways to the practice of psychology in the Valley, including ongoing representation at CPA, community outreach, political advocacy, continuing education programs, and the yearly recognition of students and professionals for contributions to the field of mental health.

© San Joaquin Valley Psychological Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software